BJP 5th list out: Shettar, Dr Sudhakar, Kageri, Kangana Ranaut get tickets; Ananth Kumar Hegde loses

09:58PM Sun 24 Mar, 2024

New Delhi, Mar 24: The BJP unveiled its 5th list on Sunday, March 24 for the Lok Sabha elections, resulting in Uttara Kannada MP Ananth Kumar Hegde losing his ticket, while Vishweshwar Hegde Kageri secured one.

Former Chief Minister Jagdish Shettar has been nominated for the Belagavi constituency, while former Minister for Chikkaballapur, Dr. K. Sudhakar, also received a ticket. Raja Amareshwar Naik is the chosen candidate for the Raichur S T reserved constituency.

The future moves of Ananth Kumar Hegde, who was gearing up for the elections, remain uncertain after losing the anticipated ticket.

The BJP is yet to announce the candidate for the Chitradurga SC reserve constituency, currently represented by Union Minister Narayanaswamy. Additionally, the BJP has relinquished three constituencies – Hassan, Mandya, and Kolar – to its ally JDS.

In a surprising move, Bollywood actor Kangana Ranaut has been named as the BJP's Lok Sabha candidate from Mandi in Himachal Pradesh. Industrialist Naveen Jindal, who recently joined the BJP, will contest from the Kurukshetra seat in Haryana, according to the party's fifth list announced on Sunday.

Varun Gandhi misses the ticket

Varun Gandhi has been replaced in Pilibhit, Uttar Pradesh, with the seat going to former Congress leader Jitin Prasada. Former Union Minister Maneka Gandhi has been fielded from Sultanpur in Uttar Pradesh.

Furthermore, the party has nominated former judge of Calcutta High Court, Justice Abhijit Ganguly, for the Tamluk constituency. Arjun Singh and Tapas Roy, who rejoined the BJP from the TMC, will contest from the Barrackpore and Kolkata North seats respectively.

(With Input From Daijiworld)